Basic Hunter Education Courses

Hunter Education is mandatory for all first time hunters.

By state law, all first-time hunters (18 years of age or older) must successfully complete a Basic Hunter Education course before they may purchase a Massachusetts hunting or sporting license. Government issued “certificates of completion” from any jurisdiction are accepted.

Minors, 12 to 17 years of age, have separate rules to follow (learn more). While minors are not mandated to complete Basic Hunter Education to hunt, it is one option for minors (15-17 years of age) to purchase hunting license and it is a prerequisite for all minors (12-17 years of age) to participate in some youth programs such as the youth turkey hunt program and the young adult pheasant hunt program.

All courses are FREE of charge and open to the public.

Basic Hunter Education Course Listing

To enroll in a course below call (508) 389-7830
Monday through Friday, 8 a.m.– 4 p.m.
Facility & Address
Dates and Times
Status
Bass River Rod and Gun Club
620  Massachusetts Route 6A
YARMOUTH PORT
Handicapped accessible

Click here for directions

2-day course (Tue & Sat) with
Independent Study
Both dates are required.
Tues, Jan 7, 2020: 6pm-9:30pm
Sat, Jan 25, 2020: 8am-5pm
A snow date is set for Sun, Jan 26th

COURSE STARTED
Enrollment is closed

****LOCATION CHANGE****
Eastern MA, Nat'l Wildlife Refuge

73 Weir Hill Road
SUDBURY
Click here for directions

2-day course (Tue & Sat) with
Independent Study
Both dates are required.
Tue, Jan 14: 6:00pm-9:30pm
Sat, Jan 25: 8am-2pm

COURSE STARTED
Enrollment is closed

Danvers Fish and Game Club
20 Birch Road
MIDDLETON
Handicapped accessible

Click here for directions

2-day course (Wed & Sat) with
Independent Study
Both dates are required.
Wed, Jan 29: 6:00pm–9:30pm
Sat, Feb 8: 8am–2pm
COURSE IS FULL
Enrollment is closed
MassWildlife Headquarters
1 Rabbit Hill Road
WESTBOROUGH
Handicapped accessible

Click here for directions

2-day course (Thu & Mon) with
Independent Study
Both dates are required.
Thu, Jan 30: 6pm-9:30pm
Mon, Feb 10: 8am-2pm

COURSE IS FULL
Enrollment is closed

Upland Sportsman’s Club
76 Upland Rd
PLYMTON
Click here for directions

4-day course |
Mon & Thu for two weeks

Feb 3, 6, 10, & 13, 2020
from 6:00pm-10:00pm each night

COURSE IS FULL
Enrollment is closed

Woburn Sportsmen's Association
155 Middlesex Turnpike
BEDFORD

Handicapped accessible
Click here for directions

6-day course
Tuesday nights for six weeks
Feb 4, 11, 18, 25, Mar 3,& 10 2020
from 7:00pm – 9:30pm each night

OPEN
To enroll call
(508) 389-7830
Monument Beach Sportsman's Club
199 MacArthur Boulevard
BOURNE

Click here for directions

4-day course
(Thu, Sat, Tue, Thu)

Thu, Feb 13: 5:30pm–9:00pm
Sat, Feb 15: 8:00am–4:30pm
Tue, Feb 18: 6:00pm–9:00pm
Thu, Feb 20: 6:00pm–9:00pm

OPEN
To enroll call
(508) 389-7830

Charles C. Kennedy Post 275
41 Robbins Road
CHICOPEE
Handicapped accessible
Click here for directions

2-day course (Two Saturdays)
Both dates are required.
Sat, Feb 15, 2020: 8am-4pm

Sat, Feb 22, 2020: 8am-4pm

COURSE IS FULL
Enrollment is closed

MassWildlife Headquarters
1 Rabbit Hill Road
WESTBOROUGH
Handicapped accessible

Click here for directions

2-day course (Tue & Fri) with
Independent Study
Both dates are required.
Tue, Feb 18: 6pm-9:30pm
Fri, Feb 28: 8am-2pm

To be added
to the Waitlist call
(508) 389-7830

Cheshire Rod and Gun Club
310 Curran Road
CHESHIRE
Handicapped accessible
Click here for directions

6-day course
Mon & Fri for three weeks

Feb 24, 28, Mar 2, 6, 9 & 13, 2020
from 6:00pm-9:00pm each night

OPEN
To enroll call
(508) 389-7830
MassWildlife Headquarters
1 Rabbit Hill Road
WESTBOROUGH
Handicapped accessible

Click here for directions

2-day course (Tue & Fri) with
Independent Study
Both dates are required.
Mon, Feb 24: 6pm-9:30pm
Sat, Mar 7: 8:00am-2:00pm

OPEN
To enroll call
(508) 389-7830

Wankinquoah Rod and Gun
92 Pine Street
MIDDLEBOROUGH
Click here for directions

4-day course
(Mon, Wed, Sat, Mon)

Mon, Mar 2: 6pm-9pm
Wed, , Mar 4: 6pm-9pm
Sat, , Mar 7: 8am-4pm
Mon, , Mar 9: 6pm-9pm

OPEN
To enroll call
(508) 389-7830

Southborough Rod and Gun Club
254 Fruit Street
HOPKINTON
Handicapped accessible

Click here for directions

2-day course (Tue & Sat) with
Independent Study
Both dates are required.
Tue, Mar 10: 6pm-9:30pm
Sat, Mar 21: 8am-3pm

OPEN
To enroll call
(508) 389-7830

Whitinsville Fish and Game Club
80 White Court
DOUGLAS
Click here for directions

2-day course (Wed & Sat) with
Independent Study
Both dates are required.
Wed, Mar 11: 6pm-9:30pm
Sat, Mar 21: 8am-3pm

OPEN
To enroll call
(508) 389-7830
MassWildlife Headquarters
1 Rabbit Hill Road
WESTBOROUGH
Handicapped accessible

Click here for directions

2-day course (Thu & Wed) with
Independent Study
Both dates are required.
Thu, Mar 12: 6pm-9:30pm
Wed, Mar 25: 8am-2pm

OPEN
To enroll call
(508) 389-7830

American Legion Post 338
46 Powder Mill Road
SOUTHWICK
Click here for directions

2-day course (One full Weekend)
Both dates are required.
Sat, Mar 14, 2020: 8am-4pm

Sun, Mar 15, 2020: 8am-4pm

OPEN
To enroll call
(508) 389-7830
Nimrod League of Holden
168 Coal Kiln Road
PRINCETON

Click here for directions

4-day course (Mon, Wed, Sat, Mon)
Mon, Mar 16: 6pm-8:45pm
Wed, Mar 18: 6pm-8:45pm
Sat, Mar 21: 8am-4pm
Mon, Mar 23: 6pm-8:45pm

OPEN
To enroll call
(508) 389-7830

Tips for finding a course

MassWildlife Hunter Education courses are offered year round but peak in the spring and fall.

  1. Sign up to be notified. Provide your contact information and we will notify you when courses are available in your general area.
  2. Periodically check this listing. This list is routinely updated as courses are scheduled and opened for enrollment across the state.
  3. Consider a course in a different state. Government issued certificates from any jurisdiction are accepted as proof of successfully completing the course in order to purchase your first-ever hunting license.
  • Important: This option is only recommended if you already have a MA firearms license or do not wish to obtain a MA firearms license. An out-of-state Basic Hunter Education certificate will not be accepted by your local police department to apply for a firearms license.

Note: Individuals who only wish to apply for a firearms license should take a firearms safety course. Certified firearms safety courses are the ideal course for non-hunters and individuals who want only to obtain a MA firearms license (Firearms Identification Card or License to Carry). Contact your local police department to learn what conditions must be met before a firearms license is issued.

Additional Resources for

Feedback