2018 Hunting season dates
Oct. 13 - Nov. 24
All dates inclusive. Hunting on Sundays is prohibited.
Game bird hunters in Massachusetts keep a daily log of their hunting activities and observations of game birds while hunting bobwhite quail, pheasant, woodcock, and grouse. These observations will provide MassWildlife biologists with information on game bird populations across the state.
Pheasant stocked areas
Every year, MassWildlife stocks about 40,000 ring-necked pheasants statewide. These birds are stocked on public and private lands that are open to hunting. Pheasants are paid for entirely by revenue from license fees.
Hunting hours begin at sunrise and end at sunset on Wildlife Management Areas (WMA's) stocked with pheasant or quail, otherwise hunting hours begin ½ hour before sunrise and end ½ hour after sunset.
Required licenses and permits
To hunt pheasant in Massachusetts you must have certain licenses and permits, which you can buy through MassFishHunt.
- Hunting or sporting license
- No additional permits
- Small game or big game license
- No additional permits
If you hunt on a licensed commercial shooting preserve, you need a resident or non-resident license, or a 1-day license for commercial shooting preserves.
- 2 per day
- 4 in possession
- 6 per season
- All Wildlife Management Zones
- Cocks and hens can be hunted on any WMA state wide.
Only cocks can be hunted in the area east of this line (see map below): from the New Hampshire border southerly on Rte. I-95 to the junction with Rte. I-495, southerly on I-495 to the junction with I-95, northerly on Rte. 95 to the junction with I-93/Rte. 128, easterly on Rtes. I-93/128 to the junction with Rte. 3, southerly on Rte. 3 to the junction with Rte. 228, and northerly on Rte. 228 to the Hull town line. However, on any wildlife management area within the above zone which is stocked with pheasant, the taking of hen pheasants is lawful.
Shotguns (including smoothbore muzzleloaders): No larger than #1 birdshot (pellet diameter equal to or less than 0.160 inches) can be used for pheasant hunting.
Archery equipment: Archery tackle is legal. Crossbows may only be used by permit. Poisoned arrows, explosive tips, bows drawn by mechanical means, or any device that propels an arrow, dart, or bolt by gunpowder, compressed air, or by any other means except by the flexing and release of a bowstring are prohibited.
When hunting pheasants on WMA’s stocked with pheasant or quail, only shotguns and archery equipment are allowed.
Hunter orange requirements
When hunting for pheasant on WMA's where pheasant or quail are stocked during the pheasant or quail season, you need to wear a hunter orange cap.
Tagging, transporting, and reporting requirements
Harvest reporting is not required for pheasant.
Hunting season framework
The first Saturday after Columbus Day to the Saturday after Thanksgiving.
Pheasant hunting regulations
This page is to be used as a reference, it is not the entire law and is subject to change. You can refer to the Pheasant, Quail, and Ruffed Grouse Hunting regulations in the Code of Massachusetts Regulations, 321 CMR 3.02(6) and to several provisions of the Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 131 for more information about pheasant hunting.
You may submit an application to MassWildlife district offices to get a free 1 day permit that allows the private purchase, liberation, and hunting of ring-necked pheasants and/or bobwhite quail on selected WMAs from Jan. 1 - March 31.
You will need a separate importation permit to purchase birds from out of state.
Permits are issued on a first-come, first-served basis. Only one party can hunt on each WMA per day. There are no stocking limits, or bag limits.