Log in links for this page
Apply for a nursing license by reciprocity
Board of Registration in Nursing
The Details of Apply for a nursing license by reciprocity
What you need for Apply for a nursing license by reciprocity
As a part of the application, you must verify each license you hold using the Nursys license verification system (Nursys).
If you are licensed in a state that does not participate in Nursys, please contact the state Board you are licensed by. Follow their instructions to get proof of your license verification.
If you were educated outside of the United States
If you have been previously licensed in Massachusetts as a RN or LPN
Do not complete a new application, renew your expired license.
Fees for Apply for a nursing license by reciprocity
|License verification fee
How to apply Apply for a nursing license by reciprocity
Go to the Health Professions Licensing Portal and create an account, or log into your existing account. If this is your first time using this new portal, please visit Health Professions Licensing System User Guide.
More info for Apply for a nursing license by reciprocity
The Board has established processes to expedite requests for licensure by reciprocity when responding to disease outbreak or other critical public health concerns.
- Guidance for Nursing Practice by Graduates and Students in Their Last Semester of Nursing Education Programs
- You can start work as a nurse once your license number appears on the board's website. Check a nursing license.
- You and your employer may print a copy of your license verification from the Board's website.
- Applications for Licensure by Reciprocity will not be accepted unless they contain a Social Security Number (SSN). Pursuant to G.L. c. 30A, s. 13A and G.L. c. 62C, s. 47A, the Bureau of Health Professions Licensure is required to obtain your SSN and forward it to the Massachusetts Department of Revenue. The Department of Revenue will use your SSN to ascertain whether or not you are in compliance with Massachusetts tax laws (G.L. c. 62C, s. 47A) and child support laws (G.L. c. 119A, s.16).
When to renew
- An RN license expires on your birthday in even-numbered years
- An LPN license expires on your birthday in odd-numbered years
- If your license is issued within 3 months of your birthday, it will be valid until the next renewal cycle
- Licenses issued outside of the 3 months of your birthday require renewal