• This page, Locate a bank or credit union and their regulator, is offered by
  • Division of Banks

Locate a bank or credit union and their regulator

The Division of Banks regulates Massachusetts state-chartered banks and credit unions. Although a bank or credit union may be physically located in Massachusetts, the DOB may not be their regulator.

Table of Contents


Federally regulated banks often use Federal, National, N.A. or FSB in their names. 

Additional Resources

Credit unions

Credit unions not using the word "Federal" as a part of its name, and not headquartered in Arkansas, Delaware, South Dakota, Wyoming or the District of Columbia, is likely a state-chartered credit union. The state supervisory authority where the credit union's main office is located will be the regulator.

The National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) supervises and insures federal credit unions and insures state-chartered credit unions.

Additional Resources

Help Us Improve Mass.gov with your feedback