Massachusetts municipally-owned electric companies

A list of towns and cities served by municipal light plants (MLPs)


Municipalities may own, maintain and operate a municipal light plant (MLP) in order to provide electric and/or gas services to their citizens. 

Forty-one communities have established MLPs that serve all or part of 50 municipalities for electric service.

Generally, MLPs are run by municipal light boards or commissions in a municipality, or by the mayor/board of selectmen. 

The DPU’s role in regulating MLPs is limited since MLP's rates are set by municipal officials. The MLP provides both distribution and supply service to its customers. 

Additional Resources for Overview

Towns served by MLPs

Town Name Municipal Light Plant
Ashburnham Ashburnham Municipal Light Plant
Belmont Belmont Municipal Light Department
Berkley Taunton Municipal Lighting Plant
Boxborough Littleton Electric Light & Water Department
Boylston Boylston Municipal Light Department
Braintree Braintree Electric Light Department
Chester Chester Municipal Electric Light Department
Chicopee Chicopee Municipal Lighting Plant
Concord Concord Municipal Light Plant
Danvers Danvers Electric Division
Dighton Taunton Municipal Lighting Plant
Georgetown Georgetown Municipal Light Department
Gosnold Gosnold Electric Light Company
Groton Groton Electric Light Department
Groveland Groveland Municipal Light Department
Hingham Hingham Municipal Light Plant
Holden Holden Municipal Light Department
Holyoke Holyoke Gas & Electric Department
Hudson Hudson Light and Power Department
Hull Hull Municipal Lighting Plant
Ipswich Ipswich Municipal Light Department
Lakeville Middleboro Gas and Electric Department
Littleton Littleton Electric Light & Water Department
Lynnfield Reading Municipal Light Plant/Peabody Municipal Light Plant
Mansfield Mansfield Municipal Electric Department
Marblehead Marblehead Municipal Light Department
Merrimac Merrimac Municipal Light Department
Middleborough Middleborough Gas & Electric Department
Middleton Middleton Municipal Light Department
North Attleborough North Attleborough Electric Department
North Reading Reading Municipal Light Plant
Norwood Norwood Municipal Light Department
Paxton Paxton Municipal Light Department
Peabody Peabody Municipal Light Plant
Princeton Princeton Municipal Light Department
Raynham Taunton Municipal Lighting Plant
Reading Reading Municipal Light Department
Rowley Rowley Municipal Lighting Plant
Russell (northern part of town) Russell Municipal Lighting Company
Shrewsbury Shrewsbury's Electric Light Plant
South Hadley South Hadley Electric Light Department
Sterling Sterling Municipal Light Department
Stow Hudson Light and Power Department
Taunton Taunton Municipal Lighting Plant
Templeton Templeton Municipal Lighting Plant
Wakefield Wakefield Municipal Light Department
Wellesley Wellesley Municipal Light Plant
West Boylston West Boylston Municipal Lighting Plant
Westfield Westfield Gas and Electric Light Department
Wilmington Reading Municipal Light Plant


Did you find the information you were looking for on this page? * required
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.
Tell us what you think