What's Trending

Learn what you can do to prepare to file your taxes, including free e-file options. View the new tax filing season update video and tax law changes for this year. You can also learn about the new 4% surtax on income above $1 million.

Updated: March 7, 2023

Table of Contents

Prepare to File Your Taxes

Here’s what’s new

Before you file your taxes, you might want to learn about what’s new this year. Go to the updated Overview page for this year’s:

Don’t forget that the Overview page has other easy-to-find resources for how to:

Check out our tips on how to avoid refund delays.

Steps you can take

Filing your taxes doesn’t have to be stressful. To get a jump on your taxes, check out:

E-File Now!

Every year, millions of Massachusetts taxpayers:

Do you want to make fewer mistakes and get a faster tax refund this year? E-file your income tax! Most people can file for free.

E-file for free?

To see if you qualify to file for free, check out:

Bookmark Us

Bookmark the Overview page to learn more about:

For more news and tax filing help, bookmark the current page and these:

Bookmark DOR’s Hot Topics page to get the latest updates for tax professionals, including information about an IRS delay in changes to 1099-K reporting that does not impact the Massachusetts requirement.

4% Surtax on Income Over $1 Million

In November 2022, a statewide ballot measure was approved to add a surtax of 4% on taxable income above $1 million for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2023.

Go to the Hot Topics page to learn more about how the 4% surtax on income over $1 million impacts:

  • Withholding Tax
  • Estimated Tax.

Mandatory E-Filing

Some taxpayers are required to electronically submit tax returns, schedules, attachments, and payments, including the federal return, to DOR. If you are a business or a partnership required to file your tax year 2022 return electronically, and you file on paper, your return will not be processed.

In most cases, tax returns and all required schedules and attachments, including the federal return, can be e-filed using commercial software or through MassTaxConnect. Some returns can only be filed electronically on MassTaxConnect, including Forms 355SBC, 63FI, and 121A.

To learn more about mandatory e-filing requirements, go to:


Tax Department: Contact Center hours are 9 a.m. – 4 p.m., Monday through Friday. 

  • (617) 887-6367 or 
  • (800) 392-6089 (toll-free in Massachusetts).

For other ways to connect, visit Contact DOR.

Do you have a question about your tax account?

If you are registered, log in to your MassTaxConnect account and send DOR a secure e-message. 

Do you need to register with MassTaxConnect?

On the upper right-hand side of MassTaxConnect's home screen:

  • Select Sign Up
  • Select Create My Logon.
MassTaxConnect sign up screen

You may also register by clicking on Register a new taxpayer under Quick Links.

Translation Help

Do you need to change this page's language?

Visit How to Translate a Website, Webpage, or Document into the Language You Want.

Help Us Improve Mass.gov with your feedback