An official website of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts
This page, What's New, is offered by

What's New

Learn about the latest tax news on filing returns, making payments, notices, e-file mandates, a new elective excise and more.

Page updated: November 29, 2021

Table of Contents

Advance Payment Requirements

Learn more about the advance payment requirements that began as of April 2021 for taxpayers with more than $150,000 in total liability for certain tax types from the previous year. Taxpayers who qualify will make an advance payment before the related tax return is due.

New E-File Mandates for Filing Returns and Making Payments

Some taxpayers who have filed or paid on paper will be required to electronically submit tax returns, informational filings and payments to the Department of Revenue beginning on or after January 1, 2022. Communications will be sent to impacted taxpayers by mail to alert them to the new mandate and direct them to this informational webpage.

Elective Pass-Through Entity Excise

On September 30, 2021, the Massachusetts Legislature adopted an elective pass-through entity excise in response to the $10,000 cap on the federal, state and local tax deduction added in the 2017 federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act. Learn about eligibility for the excise, the election process and much more on the FAQ page.

Business Non-Filer Notices Going Out

Over the next several weeks, Business Non-Filer notices will go out to taxpayers who failed to file one or more Withholding tax, Sales tax, Meals tax, Sales tax on Services and Room Occupancy tax returns. Learn more about steps to be taken to avoid receiving one of these notices.

HIRD - Health Insurance Responsibility Disclosure

HIRD is a state reporting requirement in Massachusetts administered by MassHealth and the Department of Revenue (DOR) through the MassTaxConnect web portal. The HIRD form is available now electronically and must be completed by December 15, 2021. Learn more.

Contact

Phone

Tax Department (617) 887-6367
Toll-free in Massachusetts (800) 392-6089

9 a.m.–4 p.m., Monday through Friday

Feedback