offered by

JDAI Massachusetts County Information

JDAI County Information

JDAI Massachusetts County Participation

Massachusetts began as an Annie E. Casey Juvenile Detention Alternatives Initiative site in 2006 with two counties, Worcester and Suffolk (Boston).  These sites were chosen for their high number of lower-level juveniles in detention.  Since inception, the decision was made to take the JDAI model state-wide.  In 2009, Middlesex and Essex counties joined the initiative.  In 2013 and 2014 respectively, Bristol and Hampden Counties joined the initiative.  Now JDAI has active local steering committees in six of Massachusetts’ eleven judicial districts.  Those six counties contain all the secure detention centers operated by DYS in the state, and encompass nearly all the major population centers.

JDAI local collaborative's function in six of our eleven judicial districts: Bristol, Essex, Hampden, Middlesex, Suffolk and Worcester.  This represents 73% of all the juveniles who live in Massachusetts, and 85% of all of the detention admissions.

Bristol

Co-Chairs:

Acting: Roger Oliveira, Acting Clerk Magistrate, Bristol County Juvenile Court, roger.oliveira@jud.state.ma.us

Honorable Siobhan Foley, Associate Justice, Bristol County Juvenile Court, Siobhan.foley@jud.state.ma.us

Additional Resources for

Essex

Co-Chairs:

Open

Additional Resources for

Hampden

Co-Chairs:

Honorable Lois Eaton, Associate Justice, Hampden County Juvenile Court, lois.eaton@jud.state.ma.us

Alex Sales, Acting Western Regional Director, Department of Youth Services, Alex.B.Sales@state.ma.us

Additional Resources for

Middlesex

Co-Chairs:

Honorable Jay Blitzman, First Justice, Middlesex County Juvenile Court, jay.blitzman@jud.state.ma.us

Stephen L. Allsopp, Chief of Probation, Middlesex County Juvenile Court, Stephen.Allsopp@jud.state.ma.us

Additional Resources for

Suffolk

Co-Chairs:

Janelle Ridley, Boston Public Schools, jridley@bostonpublicschools.org

Assistant Chief Probation Officer (pending)

Additional Resources for

Worcester

Co-Chair:

Jamie Bennett, Attorney in Charge, Youth Advocacy Division, jbennett@publiccounsel.net

Steven McKeown, Assistant Chief Probation Officer, Worcester County Juvenile Court, steven.mckeown@jud.state.ma.us

Additional Resources for

Feedback