Apply for or renew a practitioner MCSR

Individual health care professionals and researchers can apply, renew, and add additional locations for the Massachusetts Controlled Substances Registration (MCSR).
Processing may take between 5-10 business days from the receipt of application.

Massachusetts Controlled Substances Registration

The Details   of Apply for or renew a practitioner MCSR

What you need   for Apply for or renew a practitioner MCSR

You may now apply for or renew a MCSR on the Health Professions Licensing Portal. If this is your first time using this new portal, please visit Health Professions Licensing System User Guide for information on how to get started. 

What you need before applying for a new MCSR 

  • Your Massachusetts Board of Registration License Number 

  • DEA Federal Controlled Substance Registration Number (if possessed) 

  • Business Address 

    • Per our regulations, the address provided for your MCSR must be a place where you conduct business, specifically, prescriptive practice.  See, 105 CMR 700.004(F).  Under the applicable law and regulations, the address used for your MCSR must be your principal place of business or professional practice.  If you do not have such a place of business or professional practice, the Drug Control Program allows registrants to use their home address.  The address provided need not be located in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.  

    • Out-of-state addresses need a letter of explanation 

  • Primary telephone number 

  • Primary email address 

  • Social Security Number (Required by M.G.L. c. 30A, s. 13A

  • Date of Birth 

  • Attachments

    • Veterinarians—current board issued wallet card 

Fees   for Apply for or renew a practitioner MCSR

Name Fee Unit
APRN $300 2 years
CDTM Pharm $300 2 years
Dentist $300 2 years
Limited License Dentist $150 1 year
Optometrist $150 1 year
Physician $300 2 years
Physician Asst $300 2 years
Podiatrist $150 1 year
Veterinarians $150 1 year

How to submit   Apply for or renew a practitioner MCSR

Health Professions Licensing Portal 

Helpful information on how to create an account and renew your registration(s). 

To create an account, navigate to https://healthprofessionlicensing.mass.gov/ and click the “CREATE ACCOUNT” button. 

Once your account is created, use the registration # and PIN # you previously received to link your account to your MCSR. If you have not received a registration # or PIN# please contact MCSR@mass.gov.

After linking your account to your registration, you may renew your MCSR online up to 90 days in advance of the registration expiration date. 

You must review the entire renewal application. You can update contact information at this time. 

Video tutorials with step-by-step instructions on creating and linking your account and renewing your registration are available online at: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/health-professions-licensing-system-user-guide.  If you need additional assistance, please contact the Help Desk at (617) 973-0800 or eLicensing Support Request Form

If you need a paper application please email MCSR@mass.gov 

Downloads   for Apply for or renew a practitioner MCSR

Contact   for Apply for or renew a practitioner MCSR

Help Us Improve Mass.gov  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.
Feedback