MGL c.85, § 15 Lights on vehicles
Headlights must be on when windshield wipers are needed.
MGL c.89 Law of the road
- MGL c.89, § 7C Move over law
Requires drivers to move "into a lane not adjacent to that of the emergency response vehicle, highway maintenance vehicle or recovery vehicle" whenever possible.
- MGL c.89, § 7D Vehicles in crash involving only property damage to be moved out of travel lane
MGL c.90 Motor vehicles
- MGL. c.90, § 3 Motor vehicles owned by non-residents
A nonresident enrolled as a student at a school or college in the commonwealth who operates a motor vehicle registered in another state must file with local police a statement that provides ownership, registration information, and liability insurance coverage information.
- MGL c.90, § 7AA Child passenger restraints
- MGL c.90, § 7U Motorcycles; maximum sound levels
- MGL c.90, § 8 Operator's licenses
An applicant for the renewal of a license 75 years of age or older shall apply for a renewal in person at a registry branch office.
- MGL c.90, § 8M Use of mobile telephone, hands-free mobile telephone or mobile electronic device by person under 18 years of age while operating motor vehicle prohibited
- MGL c.90, § 13B Use of hand-held devices
"No operator of a motor vehicle shall hold a mobile electronic device."
- MGL c.90, § 14A Protection of blind pedestrians crossing or attempting to cross ways
Commonly known as the Mass. White Cane Law.
- MGL c.90, § 16 Offensive or illegal operation of motor vehicles
No person shall operate a motor vehicle upon any way, public or private, unless such motor vehicle is equipped with a muffler to prevent excessive or unnecessary noise.
MGL c.90C Procedure for motor vehicle offenses
- MGL c.90C, § 2 Citations and citation books, "No fix law"
211 CMR 74 Standards of fault
211 CMR 134 Safe driver insurance plan
Lists minor and major traffic accidents and offenses which subject the violator to "points" on their auto insurance.
540 CMR Registry of Motor Vehicles
700 CMR 7.04 Electronic toll collection
Massachusetts court rules
76 FR 75470 Restricting the use of cellular phones by commercial motor vehicle drivers, as corrected by 76 FR 82179
Restricts the use of hand-held mobile telephones by drivers of commercial motor vehicles (CMVs).
Appeal your traffic ticket, Mass. Registry of Motor Vehicles.
Explains how to appeal a ticket.
Cell phone and texting laws, Governors Highway Safety Association, 2021.
Provides a chart of all state cell phone and text messaging laws.
Citable motor vehicle offenses and CMVI assessments, effective October 23, 2013.
Lists the fines for motor vehicle infractions, and indicates offenses which carry criminal penalties.
Clear snow from your car or get pulled over, state police warn drivers, MassLive.com, Jan. 2019.
"In Massachusetts, police can use a couple of statutes to enforce snow-clearing. ...officers can issue a $40 fine for impeded operation if a driver has obstructed windows and a $200 fine for driving with an unsecured load, which can include heavy sheets of snow or ice on a car's roof."
Discretionary, mandatory, and public safety suspensions, Mass. Registry of Motor Vehicles.
Provides a list and brief description of types of suspensions and revocations.
IIHS research bibliography, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety.
Search for statistics and laws on highway safety issues by topic. Also details selected motor vehicle laws by state, including cell phone laws, seat belt and child seat laws, marijuana laws, alcohol interlock laws, and more.
Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices (MUTCD), Federal Highway Administration, 2009 edition.
MUTCD defines the standards used nationwide to install and maintain the signs, signals, and pavement markings on all streets and highways. See also: Massachusetts Amendments to the 2009 MUTCD (2012)
Massachusetts driver's manuals, Mass. Registry of Motor Vehicles.
These manuals include all the key information needed to drive legally in Massachusetts. Chapters include: obtaining your license, keeping your license, rules of the road, and more
Pay a citation online, Mass. Registry of Motor Vehicles.
Traffic tickets, Mass. District Court.
"Find information about motor vehicle violations, what to do if you get a traffic ticket, and how to appeal a traffic ticket and court decision."
Beat your ticket : go to court & win by David Brown, Nolo, c2013. (eBook available here with library card).
Massachusetts motor vehicle offenses, 2nd ed., MCLE, loose leaf.
|Last updated:||May 23, 2023|
- Traffic Tickets
- Massachusetts law about drunk or drugged driving
- Massachusetts law about speed limits
- Massachusetts law about automobiles
- Massachusetts law about auto insurance
- Massachusetts law about medical qualifications to operate a motor vehicle
- Blog post: Start your engine, but don’t idle too long
- Chat or text with a law librarian
- Request documents from the law libraries