Massachusetts law about small necessities act leave

A compilation of laws, regulations and web sources on employment leave under the Massachusetts small necessities act.

See other types of employment leave here.

Table of Contents

Massachusetts law

Up to 24 hours every 12 months

MGL c.149, § 52D(b) Small Necessities Leave Act. Law allows employees who qualify under the federal family and medical leave act to take off up to 24 hours in a 12 month period for:

  • your child's school activities, such as parent-teacher conferences
  • your child's medical appointments
  • your elderly relative's medical appointments or appointments for other professional services related to the elder's care, such as interviewing at nursing or group homes.

Massachusetts regulations

940 CMR 20 Employee leave for certain family obligations

     

    Web sources

    Attorney General's advisory on small necessities leave, Attorney General's Fair Labor and Business Practices Division
    Provides the former AG's interpretation of the Small Necessities law, including eligibility, notice and more

    Your right to take off from work for personal or family needs, Mass Legal Help
    Answers many frequently asked questions about the Small Necessities Leave Act, such as:

    • How do I know this law applies to me?
    • Who is considered a “family member?”
    • What kind of notice do I need to provide to my employer?
    • Is the leave paid or unpaid?

    Print sources

    Massachusetts employment law, 5th ed., MCLE, loose-leaf. Chapter 18.

    Massachusetts wage and hours handbook, 6th ed., MCLE, 2020. Chapter 5.

    Contact

    Online

    Law library locations and phone numbers Library locations 
    Reference librarians online Chat with a law librarian 
    Reference librarians via email masslawlib@gmail.com
    Date published: August 7, 2020
    Last updated: April 15, 2022
    Feedback